The Work Could Work (Liver)

Posted: August 7, 2011 by Hannah in Family

i can feel my liver working
removing the disasters
of my intakes
digesting
involuntarily

i have expected everything
to be just as
easy
iron instead of irony
but i’m finding that is just not the case

dirt and dirty
could be removed from me
simply and sweetly
the work could work
the work is worth it

but deciphering the
poison from the rest
makes me the antagonist
so i keep it all
until clarity brings the absence of substance

i can feel my liver working
doing things the difficult way
and the correct way
until the sea is saltless
and the mind is faultless

Comments
  1. namesake says:

    Once again, brilliant. I love the insight and the idea that if we could apply the liver’s function to all of us, it would be so simple, “but deciphering the / poison from the rest / makes me the antagonist”.

    Wow! Realy. Wow. I love that and I love that it’s from you.

    Thanks.

Leave a Reply

