The Work Could Work (Brain)

Posted: August 7, 2011 by Hannah in Family

i can endorse my brain
throbbing and pulsing
though i probably shouldn’t
i do my hardest not to mind
as it takes in messages for my own sake

life gets tied up
so much that it hardly comes out for air
and is never just or fair
and i worry
that the constant worry
only pushes the world away

or smashes us together
but in it’s intellect lies
riddles never answered
and a store that is closing down
due to statistics that end in
“no one wants reminders of what they
can’t have back”

paint it all black
freezing
and ceasing
never to trouble us again
never to out prove us
or improve us
to never intrude
or confuse us

i could endorse my brain
throbbing and pulsing
if it was just facts and data
and whatever is necessary
but that’s not what i have
i only have what i lack

Comments
  1. namesake says:

    Hannah, I know it’s lame to only get comments from your Dad, and that I’ve already mentioned how much I like this one, in particular, but I have to say, after just reading it again, my heart actually does a little pitter-pat thing and my mouth juts open, and a little “aha” kind of chuckle escapes my body when I read this; especially those lines at the end of the 3rd stanza: “and a store that is closing down / due to statistics that end in / “no one wants reminders of what they / can’t have back”

    It just happened again. Seriously.

    Brilliant. Really brilliant. Yes!

  2. Tammy says:

    okay, i seriously want a book of your poetry. you are my favorite poet. offically.

Leave a Reply

