Alice in Wonderland

Posted: September 20, 2009 by Katie in Family

For my AP Lit class, I have to choose 3 AR (accelerated reading) books and then take a general quiz about those books. Because it is a class that focuses on Literature, the books had to be chosen out of a pre-approved list of classics. I found Alice in Wonderland on the list, and I knew I had to read it. I have had a recent fascination with Alice in Wonderland, especially because the trailer for the Tim Burton version just came out, and I have been looking forward to that movie for years, literally. I thought it would be best if I read the book before I saw the movie.

Also, I recently watched Pheobe in Wonderland, which is a great movie in which a girl with Tourette’s Syndrome is able to cope with the help of Alice’s world:

I had no idea just how much I would love that book. The book is completely logical in a very illogical sense. When reading the book, it is best to let go of all things that are normal, and just jump in. I think thats why enjoyed the book so much. It made no sense, and  it was a totally different world. The characters were hilarious. There was, of course, the Cheshire Cat, the Red Queen, Tweedle Dee and Tweedle Dum, The Caterpillar, and the Mad Hatter, but it was also fun to read about the Mock Turtle, the Duchess, the White Queen, and the fight of the Lion and the Unicorn. Each character was insane, but enjoyable. The way in which Wonderland worked was crazy, yet logical. And Alice, apparently a 7-year-old is the most sane creature in the entire book. Did you ever realize how often Alice changed size throughout the book? She was instantly either taller or shorter, depending on what she ate.

 The book also contained several great quotes. My favorite is this quote from Alice: “I wonder if I have been changed in the night? Let me think: Was I the same when I got up this morning? I almost think i can remember feeling a little different. But if i am the same, the next question is: who in the world am I? Ah, that’s a great puzzle!”

Another great quote is when Alice is talking to the Duchess during the game of croquet:

The Duchess: “Everything has got a moral, if only you can find it.”

Alice: “The game is going better now.”

The Duchess: “‘Tis so, and the moral of that is-‘Oh, ’tis love, ’tis love that makes the world go round'”

The book also contains several poems that are completely nonsensical, yet enjoyable. The poem of the Walrus and the Carpenter was possibly the most entertaining, but it was kind of depressing. The poem of the Jabberwocky was impossible to understand because very few of the words in it were actually words. The poem which Humpty Dumpty told was completely cut off, so who knows what that truly was about. The poem with the Knight told Alice was apparently the part of Wonderland which Alice remembered for forever.

The final poem contains these great lines:

“In a Wonderland they lie,

Dreaming as the days go by,

Dreaming as the summers die.

Ever drifting down the stream-

Lingering in the golden gleam-

Life, what is it but a dream?”

Overall, it was a fun book. It was good to let go of all things normal and read the book. There was such great logic, and such deep thoughts, in really odd ways. The quotes, as you can tell, were brilliant. I’m really glad I decided to read the book, as it is now one of my favorites. Alice is definitely one of my all time favorite character.

Comments
  1. Tammy says:

    Wow. I now really want to read Alice in Wonderland and watch the movie and watch Phoebe in Wonderland. They sound really good. Thanks for sharing Katie! You totally took me into that world. And I love the Jabberwocky poem. “The mome raths outgrabe” You can’t beat that!

  2. Madeline says:

    I agree with Tammy sounds good
    Madeline

  3. risa says:

    So, I love this. Everything about Alice in Wonderland makes me want to forget about reality and live in this world of make believe and imagination all of the time. I haven’t told you, but my dorm halls are alligned with sea creatures and blue paper to create the illusion that we’re underwater. Our CA’s are really creative and perhaps that is why the third floor is the best on campus… Anyway I’m so glad you’re usuing imagination and lost in wonderland but still logically grasping reality. hmm this was long. i love you Katie!

  4. Will says:

    Oh yeah so I really enjoyed watching that Phoebe In Wonderland movie and I can’t wait for Alice In Wonderland to come out and not just ’cause it’s directed by Tim Burton. I also want to read that alice in wonderland book too sounds rather interesting. oh, and that Jabberwocky poem is really fun as well I must admit. He mixed different words together to make new words making it not make any sense. Speaking of which I forget what that’s called. Anyway good stuff.

  5. john (or bubba for short) says:

    I would only go if I had a sword, shield, grappling hook, death ray, assault rifle, paper shredder, a guide on how to win at go fish and various other card games, a horse, bow and arrow, food, and a keen sense of intelligence. (oh wait, I already have that)!

Leave a Reply

